By now you should’ve somehow realised what you’ve gotta do…

Well, that was entirely predictable.

I should’ve known it was all a wasted journey when he looked at me like I had just shat on his firstborn when I – in a *very* jokey manner- said that he was 5 minutes late. It was purely an ice breaker, and allowed me to slip in the ‘date’ classic of ‘Oooh! Thought you weren’t going to show!’

There was a sense of humour failure right there, so much so that I could practically hear the comedy ‘Neeeeeeeooooooooowwwww BOOM!’ sound from some kind of roadrunner cartoon as his came to terms with such a stain on his character.

He followed this with pointing out how expensive and accurate his watch is, and that the rather colourful haunt of Camden was to blame as he couldn’t find anywhere safe to park his terribly expensive car. I tried to laugh this off, and suggested maybe he should of tried the tubes…

Which didn’t go down at ALL well.

After a millenia long rant about the tubes and how they don’t measure up to the ones in Europe/america etc, I’m starting to think that maybe he did, actually, come by tube and that he’s just name dropping to sound terribly well traveled et al.

I decide to keep my comedy A-Bomb (which would of been the quip about Curry Club/free drinks etc) up my sleeve, and possibly just stay for a polite chat so that he can at least get value for money from his parking ticket.

It pretty much goes downhill from there. A lot of people ask me if/when I might tell a prospective Significant Other about my job, and I’d say that if I’ve finished my drink, and they still haven’t asked me a question about myself (even – ‘How are you?’ or ‘How was your journey?’ would have been nice) then it’s pretty much a given that they’ll never find out at all… cos I probably wont be sticking around for very long anyway. Not even for a second drink…

I know this game y’see. If someones actually interested in you, then they will take actual interest in you. Who you are, what you’ve done, what you want to do etc…find out what they can because they want to know you. If they’re just hoping for a shag to entertain some niggling fantasy, they’ll waffle on about what they have, where they’ve been and who they know in the hopes some fawning young thing will swoon all over their convertable. Which just isn’t going to happen…unless I would, actually, like to get busy. Which I didn’t.

So it gave me great pleasure to walk out after hastily finishing my first drink.

I always hope that it’ll give them something to think about, and make them realise that fat girls need wooing too. Alas, I don’t think it’ll really work. For every confident, goddess-like sex kitten who knows she’s worth more than a vodka and coke, there’s a dozen insecure, troubled girls with low self esteem who’ll just be grateful someone wants her.

2 Responses to “By now you should’ve somehow realised what you’ve gotta do…”

  1. Simone DeSade Says:

    I just wanted to say after reading this entry,I adore you.

    • Miss M Says:

      Aww, thank you πŸ™‚ Feeling is mutual – I adore *anyone* who takes a little time to read my random waffling πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

