Suckerpunched

Yes, I had a lovely time on holiday, thank you for asking. I stayed with some friends in a villa we rented to while away some spontaneous time in the sun; reading, relaxing, sun bathing, swimming and sipping cocktails oh-so-decadently by the sea.

Ok, it wasn’t quite like that. But it was absolutely lovely to get away for a few days and get through the stack of novels I’d put aside (and make a start on final fantasy tactics on the DS. But Shhh…!). What wasn’t so hot, however, was the excruciating “jet lag” I felt afterwards. Surely, thought I, ’twas just too much over excitement and hardy frolics! Oh no, it wasn’t to be. After my second day in bed, feeling like something thats been trodden on, driven over, drowned and used in biological warfare, I finally succumbed to the idea of going to the doctors.

I don’t know how I made it, but somehow I managed to shiver and shake my way there, only to be found I’ve picked up ‘some kind of bug, not too sure what, probably something along the gastroenteritis lines’. Oh. Excellent. So, alas, no magic pills. Just plenty of bed rest, vitamins and liquids for me for the next couple of weeks.

So I’m afraid I’m clearing my diary for a bit. In reality, I should be OK by Monday, but life so far has left me with a pessimistic thread, so I’ll say Thurs/Friday instead. Just to be on the safe side.

So…I don’t suppose anyone wants to come over and cook me chicken soup? I can offer nothing but the opportunity to cook, clean, and possibly hoover around me as I sit on the sofa, watching Big Brother.

You lucky things!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

